972 89 20 31
Resort info: +34 972 89 20 31
Emergency: +34 972 145 087
Reservations: +34 932 041 041

All Information 


The giant slalom marks the kick-off of the IPC adapted alpine skiing World Cup in La Molina

News date: 11-03-2019
Share this event
Tags: la molina, world cup, para alpine skiing, ipc

The second and third giant slalom competitions of the World Cup for individuals with physical and visual disabilities will be held on Tuesday the 12th and Thursday the 14th. The slalom (SL) will be held on Friday the 15th and Saturday the 16th

On Tuesday the 11th of March, La Molina was the site of the first of three super giant slalom competitions of the adapted alpine skiing World Cup of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) for individuals with physical or visual disabilities. The competition is being held in the ski resort’s Roc Blanc Stadium. Located on the northern slope, it is 905 metres long and has a slope of 306 metres. In the 2005-2006 season, it received approval from the ISF.


The giant slalom (GS) competition had 51 athletes (14 women and 37 men) from 16 countries competing: Germany (3), Andorra (1), Australia (1), Austria (4), Canada (7), Slovakia (2), United States (5), Finland (1), France (7), Great Britain (1), Holland (4), Japan (6), Norway (2), Poland (1), Sweden (1) and Switzerland (5).


The adapted alpine skiing World Cup can be watched via streaming on the Paralympic Committee’s YouTube channel: http://bit.ly/2XIOlZp


Winners in the first giant slalom competition, by category


In the Women’s GS Visual Disability category, first place went to the Australian Melissa Perrine, with a time of 1:49.87, and second went to the Briton Menna Fitzpatrick (1:51.11).

In the GS Women’s Standing category, the Frenchwoman Marie Bochet won the gold with a time of 1:42.50. The Canadian Frederique Turgeon (1:47.53) and the German Anna-Maria Rieder (1:49.77) came in second and third, respectively.


In the GS Women’s Wheelchair category, the gold medal went to the Japanese Momoka Muraoka, who crossed the finish line with a time of 1:47.89. The German Anna-Lena Forster took silver with +5.43. and the American Laurie Stephens ended up in third place with +11.80 over the first-place finisher.

In the Men’s GS Visual Disability category, the Frenchman Hyacinthe Deleplace was declared champion after reaching the finish line with a time of 1:44.36. The Slovak Marek Kubacka landed the silver with a time of 1:45.49, and fellow Frenchman Thomas Civade took the bronze with a time of 1:48.06.

In the GS Men’s Standing category, the competition was led by the Frenchman Arthur Bauchet with a time of 1:32.98, while the Swiss Theo Gmur, with a time of 1:34.39, won the silver. The bronze in this race went to the American Thomas C Walsh, who crossed the finish line with a time of 1:35.75.

With a time of 1:39.40, the Japanese Taiki Morii won first place in the GS Men’s Wheelchair category, followed by the Dutchmen Niels de Langen (1:42.47) and Jeroen Kampschreur (1:42.84), who came in second and third, respectively.


Five days of competition

La Molina is hosting 60 athletes from around the world from the 11th to 16th of March to vie in the international alpine skiing competition. The giant slalom (GS) will be Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, while the slalom (SL) will be Friday and Saturday.

The giant slalom marks the kick-off of the IPC adapted alpine skiing World Cup in La Molina
FGC websites
Book in La Molina
Purchase / Recharge
My booking
Enter your booking number and your email to check your reservation, to cancel it or change it.